Info Hostels photo 527

Oslo,The Nobel Peace Prize 10 December.

And the 2008 Nobel Peace Prize Will Be Awarded to…?

At the same time as the other Nobel awards are handed out in Stockholm, the Norwegian Nobel Institute hands out the famous Peace prize, awarded annually to individuals or organisations whose work and achievements have promoted world peace and global cooperation.

The celebration itself takes place in the Oslo Town Hall, Rådhuset, near Aker Brygge, on 10th Decemer 08'.

Why in Oslo, when all the other Nobel Prizes are awarded in Stockholm, Sweden?

You will find the answer in the will of Alfred Nobel, in which he stated that the Nobel Peace Prize is to be awarded by a Committee of five persons elected by the Norwegian Storting or parliament.

This year the winner will be chosen from among 197 nominations, comprising 164 individuals and 33 organizations.

The Peace Prize presentation has become an international event whose media coverage and significance far surpasses those of the other prizes.

It is traditional that the recipient gives a speech on or immediately after the occasion, which is then published in a special booklet. Recipients in recent years have included charity organisations and freedom fighters, as well as groups promoting such causes as reducing nuclear armaments and banning landmines.

Yasser Arafat, Shimon Peres and Yitzhak Rabin famously shared the Prize in 1994, sparking long and bitter controversies.

The Dalai Lama famously received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1989!

This year’s list looks like this:

1. Gao Zhisheng and Hu Jia, China
2. Thich Quang Do, Vietnam (Buddhist monk)
3. Lidia Yusupova, Russia, Human Rights Activist
4. Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry, Pakistan, former Chief Justice
5. Coalition against Cluster Bombs
6. FAO (Food and Agriculture Association) or the WFP (World Food Program) at the United Nations.

City: Oslo
Country: Norway
Published on 11-Nov-2008
Section EVENTS
[ Book Hostels in Oslo ]
Book Hostels in Oslo.

Read blog news about Oslo Errore 111 nella connessione a MySql: